About FEMA

The Federal Emergency Management Agency, also known as FEMA, was created in 1978 and was activated in 1979 by President Jimmy Carter.  FEMA is part of the United States Department of Homeland Security and was set in place in order to help a state that has declared a state of emergency during a disaster.  When a state can not handle an emergency or disaster on their own, they look to the federal government and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for help.

After the attacks on September 11, 2001, the United States created the Department of Homeland Security.  On March 1, 2003, the Federal Emergency Management Agency joined the Department of Homeland Security.  Today, FEMA, is still considered to be a part of the Department of Homeland Security.

FEMA’s Mitigation Directorate makes the agency responsible for a number of programs that can be deployed before, during, or after an emergency or disaster.

  • National Response Coordination Center
  • Urban Search and Rescue
  • National Disaster Medical System
  • Mobile Emergency Response Support
  • Preparedness for Nuclear Incidents
  • Emergency Management Institute training and certifications

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is broken out into ten different regions:

  • Region I – Boston, MA ( CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)
  • Region II – New York, NY (NJ, NY, PR, USVI)
  • Region III – Philadelphia, PA (DC, DE, MD, PA, VA, WV)
  • Region IV – Atlanta, GA (AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN)
  • Region V – Chicago, IL ( IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI)
  • Region VI – Denton, TX (AR, LA, NM, OK, TX)
  • Region VII – Kansas City, MO (IA, KS, MO, NE)
  • Region VIII – Denver, CO (CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY)
  • Region IX – PAO (American Samoa, CNMI, Guam, Hawaii)
  • Region X – Bothell, WA (AK, ID, OR, WA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.